Taking a Break for a Personal Story

I’m sure that most of you are eagerly waiting what I consider to be the best handheld game of not only last generation, but of all time. Unfortunately, you’ll have to wait a little longer (Tomorrow, I promise), because today’s post is going to be a little more personal. I went to Sunday brunch downtown today, and on the way home I stopped by a flea market. Now, I’m no stranger to flea markets. They are excellent places to find old games that are truly difficult to find; however, most of the time, you’ll find the same crap. Today was different. Among various copies of Suikoden 1 and 3, some Atelier games, and an actual copy of Lufia 2: Rise of the Sinistrals, I found the motherload: Chrono Trigger.

The contents are 90% likely to be crap, but its worth checking just in case.

Chrono Trigger is one of the greatest games ever made. If charm could be quantified, the game would have enough to buy China five times and still have enough left over to pay for gas for sixteen Hummers in a cross country race. It is also a very noticeable hole in my Super Nintendo (SNES) collection. You see, internet, the SNES was where I became serious about gaming. Sure I had been gaming since Super Mario Bros., but it wasn’t until I was introduced to Squaresoft’s RPGs that this hobby truly began consuming me. The first RPG I ever played was Final Fantasy II, a game I now know to be Final Fantasy IV (Long story, off topic). After this game, I consumed every RPG I could find at my local Blockbuster including Chrono Trigger. So obsessive was I with these classic RPGs that my gaming and message board handle is a mistranslation of one of the key bosses. This mistranslation led to me naming this blog what it is.

Look me up. I’m super cool.

Of all of these games, Chrono Trigger was the jewel. I have since collected many of these RPGs, often through flea markets. When growing up, my father was often away on business trips. I would always give him a list of games to look out for just in case he ever found then. I would, more often than not, leave flea markets disappointed by once again not being able to find the game I was looking for. The one game I never found was Chrono Trigger. When the Blockbuster that had rented my the game was selling off all of its SNES games in order to make room for Playstation and N64 games, I had a chance to buy it. I saw it in the bin for ten dollars, but I was coming back the next day, so I didn’t buy it then. I had acquired many rare games from this Blockbuster downsizing its collection including Ogre Battle: March of the Black Queen, so I suppose I was cocky and thought that no one else would buy it. I was wrong. When I came back in the next day, it was gone, and I never saw another copy until today.

This game has haunted my dreams

Of course its not like I haven’t played the game since. Final Fantasy Chronicles was a Playstation game that was released in 2001, and it bundled Chrono Trigger and Final Fantasy IV. Unfortunately, the game was so badly ported and the loading times were so bad, that I considered it unplayable. The DS port released in 2008 was much better. Since then its come to the PSN (Probably the horrible Chronicles version though), and even the iOS. Despite this, I’m a collector at heart, and I have a very special place for the original SNES Chrono Trigger. So, I found it at the flea market, and it was the first time I’d seen it in many, many years. Here’s the kicker. I look for these games in flea markets because more often than not, the seller is unaware of the value of the thing they are selling, and Chrono Trigger is very valuable indeed. Unfortunately, this seller was aware of the value. The price he wanted for it was too much, as it was for the games mentioned in the first paragraph, so I had to leave empty handed.

*This was going to be a picture of a baby crying, but google images found this on the first page
Why does a picture of the Parasite Eve 2 shower scene show up on THE FIRST PAGE of google images when I search for “crying”?

One day, when I have the money, I will buy this game and put it in its rightful place at the head of my collection. Unfortunately, today was not that day, and so I mourn. The only thing worse about never being able to find the one game you’ve been looking for, for more than a decade, is to finally find it, but not be able to afford it.

– Mistranslations for the Modern Gamer

Leave a Reply

